Article

Sign-Up Form Options

« Go Back

Information

 
Full Story

Sign-up forms are great for collecting information(e.g. to confirm which communications they wish to receive - social club updates). Below is a list of the Sign-up Form Edit Options. When you Create a Sign-up Form or Editing a Sign-up Form, you'll find the edit options on the left.

User-added image


Sign-Up Form Options:

Click an option below to view the instructions to edit your Sign-up form. 

Edit the Layout area of your Sign-Up Form:

  1. You will see an option to the right of each field to edit or delete it. By clicking ‘Delete’ the field selected can be removed from the form. A confirmation message appears to confirm you wish to delete the field.
    User-added image

 
  1. Click 'OK' to confirm the deletion. The field no longer appears on the sign-up form. Alternatively, Click 'Edit' to the right of the field you'd like to edit.
     

  2. A window appears with the options to change the field that is displaying and to change the label that appears for the selected field on the form.
    User-added image

 
  1. Make the changes that are required and click to ‘OK’ to save. In preview,  the sign-up form changes to show the updated field.
     

  2. To change the position of the fields on the form, hoover over selected field and the cursor changes to four arrows to move position.
     

  3. Along the top of the sign-up form there are a number of different options available for adding to or editing the sign-up form. See table below for options

    User-added image   Field -  In the label field, insert the title as it should display on the form.
    User-added image   There are currently two field groups available to select, Full Name (First Name & Last Name) and Full Address (Address 1,2 & 3).
    In the label field type what you want this field group to be called on the form.
    User-added image   This option allows you to name an area to contain specific fields.
    Once a new fieldset is added different fields can be dropped into this fieldset area.
    User-added image   This area allows you to create fields for Audiences and Tags. Using these options, employees will determine the audiences or the tags that they are added to.
    Select the Field Type you wish to add and then update the label with how these options should be presented to employees.
    User-added image   This option allows you to add a block of text to the sign-up form.
    Like any other field in the form it can be moved and dropped to change where it appears.
    User-added image   This option allows you to determine whether the field labels appear above the fields or to the right of the fields .
    User-added image   This option allows you to reset the form to revert any changes made. There are two options available when resetting the form.
    Basic Form – this version of the form has fields for Email Address, First Name and Last Name.
    Detailed Form – this reverts back to the detailed long version of the form .
 

General Form Settings of a Sign-up form:

  1. Here you can edit or assign a Folder(s) to the sign-up form - Folders are grouped by the audiences they are assigned to. You are required to set which Folder(s) are associated with the sign-up form during the initial set up.
    User-added image

 
  1. The option to set default sender information is located here. The default sender information is important as any email that is sent to an employee as a result of something they do on the sign-up form will be sent from the email address and name that is set here.
    User-added image

 
  1. This will automatically take the default sender information for the Folder associated with the sign-up form (as set in the admin area). Examples of emails sent using this information are - Confirmation Emails, Latest Issue.
 

New People for a Sign-up form:

  1. These are the settings that will effect any new People.
     

  2. The option to set 'Double Opt In' for new People is available here. This means that once the new employee completes the sign-up form they will receive an email requiring them to click on a link to confirm their subscription.

User-added image

 
  1. The next group of options is what happens "after a new personcompletes sign-up form".  You can select your preference from the below four options:User-added image
 
  • Display Screen Message.
    User-added image

There are two default messages set here.  You can change the message that appears by clicking edit.

Short Version: This is the message that the employee sees after filling out the 'Short Version' of the sign-up form. As they are presented with the Update Profile form at this point the message should imply that they are signed up but if they would like to provide more information this is their opportunity.

Long Version: This is the message that is displayed after the employee fills out the 'Long Version' of the subscribe box. At this point the person is subscribed to the newsletter. The message is displayed on a blank page of the Folder that is associated with the sign-up form.
 

  • Go to a specific email

User-added image
Choosing this option allows you to send a employee to a specific email once they have filled out the sign-up form. First select the Folder and then select either the latest published email in this Folder or a specific email.
 
  • Go to specific page

User-added image
This option allows you to send a employee to a specific web page once they have completed the sign-up form.
 
  • Go to sign-up form

User-added image
This option allows you to send a employee to another sign-up form, this can be used if you require further information or would like to encourage the new Person to sign up to another Folder.
 
  1. The Additional Options allow you to decide if the employee receives a welcome email and if you want to automatically send new People an email from the selected Folder. If you select either of these options you can then set the details of the welcome message or the details of the email to send.
User-added image  
 
  1. Add tags: Here you can set what tag new people are added to when they complete the sign-up form. By default a tag called - 'SIGN UP FORM NAME' followed by 'self subscriber', will be applied to any new People. The tag can be changed here.
User-added image
 
  1. Set field:  If this option is chosen then you can automatically set a particular field for all new Peoplethat fill out the sign-up form. This is most useful for setting the 'source' field.
User-added image

 

Updating People for a Sign-up form:

These are the settings that will apply to any People updating their profile.

Email confirmation: This is the option to send an email to any People that is updating their details to confirm their actions.
This is to ensure that the updated information is associated with the correct person. Existing People will not be able to access the update profile form unless they click on the link in their email to confirm their email address.

If this option is selected then the ‘Confirmation Message’ will appear on the update profile page. When the person submits their email address the ‘Confirmation Message’ appears on screen. Then the ‘Confirmation Email’ is sent and once the person clicks on the confirmation link that form opens for the person to complete.
User-added image


The option to edit what an employee updating their details sees when they complete the sign-up process appears below this. The options are the same options available for a new person.

Additional options here allow you to set whether the employee receives an email message and if you want to automatically send updated People an issue of the newsletter. If you select either of these options you will then need to set the details of the message or the details of the issue to send.
You can also set the tags applied to People that update their records or set a particular field for all updating their information.

 

 Export Options

In the export options section you can set the tag applied to People that complete forms exported to either your website or Facebook. You can also set a selected field to a particular value when an employee completes the form exported to either your website of Facebook.
 User-added image
 

Notification Settings of a Sign-Up Form:

This option allows you to set an email address that is to receive notifications when someone completes the sign-up form, updates their profile or opts-out using the sign-up form.

User-added image

Once you are finished editing your sign-up form, save all changes by clicking on 'OK'.

Was this article helpful?

   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255

 

Contact Support

Don't see what you're looking for?
Contact our support team who will be happy to answer your query.

Contact Us